Letters To The Editor (Fish And Bones)


I was out to eat with the husband the other night and fried

fish was on the menu. Bone or boneless was the choice. I

clearly remember eating catfish with my grandmother and

watching out for those bones.

 

She lived near the levee outside of New Orleans and her brother

would walk over the levee and go fishing right there in the

Mississippi River.

 

After catching several catfish he would come home and

get them ready for my grandmother to fry. With bones

intact she would dip them in the batter. The smell

throughout the house was so good, and when it was

time to eat, the fish pieces would melt in your mouth.

 

The only thing to spoil it might be a bone or two. Lucky

for us we would catch them in time. No choking for any

of us and the thought of that happening was not a good

thought.

 

Back to our recent dinner. I chose the boneless fish.

Of course with the realization that there was always

a chance to find a bone anyway. Until the world is

perfect I have to assume that fact.

 

“To enjoy and wish-

For the perfect boneless fish.”

Leave a comment