Wednesday Yarn (Fried Eggs)


I remember the Fourth of July when we went out to the lake

with my grandmother. She made potato salad that was so good.

I’ve tried to make it like she does, but it just isn’t the same. I do

us the same mayo though, as it has always been my favorite.

There’s just something about grandmothers that make food taste

so much better. The first time that my grandmother was married

she and her first husband had some type of eatery, so she got to

cook often and acquired a knack for it. One of her fried eggs was

a dream. Surely there wasn’t anything special about the chicken

that laid the egg, it was her special touch that brought it to life.

She has been gone for a long time now and I really miss her.

Her cooking, her stories and her acceptance of me. I really

needed that during my lifetime. It still comes in handy.

As far as those fried eggs go, I still cannot cook as well as

my grandmother, but one thing is for sure. It is so hot in

Texas, that cracking an egg on a sidewalk might get it

going. At least in the sunny side up department.

“Always thinking, always looking-

For memories of Grandmother’s cooking.”

-2017-

Leave a Reply

